About yoga

When the mind is still and quiet and the clouds begin to shift we can begin to see more clearly our true nature and experience the joy of discovering our spiritual energy.

Generally yoga is recognised as an ancient system of philosophies, principles and practices originally derived from the Vedic tradition of India over 3000 years ago. It is a system that recognises the multi-dimensional nature of the human person, and primarily relates to the nature and workings of the mind, based on experiential practice and self-enquiry.

In Yoga, the body, breath and mind are seen as a union of these multi-dimensional aspects of every human being. The various practices of Yoga cultivate the experience of that union, leading to greater integration of being, internal peacefulness and clarity of the mind. It is a system that is designed to cultivate health and happiness, and a greater sense of self-awareness and higher consciousness.

Yoga brings about health and wellbeing (physical, emotional, mental and social) through the regular practice of a range of many different techniques, including postures and movement, breath awareness and breathing exercises, relaxation and concentration, self-inquiry and meditation.

Yoga is an approach to life that values appropriate effort, based on balance and harmony within each person and with each other.

The sage Patānjali codified ideas from teachings gone before, and around 200 CE bought together the196 sutra that yoga teachers around the world still use toady as the basis for their own teaching. The eight limbs of yoga found in Ch 2 of the Sutra are considered today as the foundation for most yoga schools.

About yoga

Eight Limbs Of Yoga

  • Prānāyāma - Control of Prānā/vital energy (breath control)
  • Pratyahara - Withdrawal of the senses.
  • Dhārāna - Focused attention of the mind.
  • Dhyāna - Meditation
  • Samadhi - Realisation and unity, The super conscious state.
  • Yamas - Moral codes (abstentions) (Non-violence, truth, moderation, non stealing and non-covetousness)
  • Niyamas- Personal observances. (Purity, austerity, contentment, study and surrender)
  • Āsana - Physical postures.

" Yoga is India's greatest gift to the world"

- Krishnamacharya